National Law University Jodhpur
Antitrust Moot Court

The NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition (“Moot”), an initiative conceived in 2010, to generate interest in competition law amongst law students across the nation, is the flagship moot court competition of National Law University Jodhpur. Participation in the Moot entails engaging in research on contemporary issues pertaining to competition law and pleading a hypothetical dispute before the appropriate forum. The NLU Antitrust Law Moot Court Competition is the first moot court competition in India in the area of competition law. The University has successfully organized fourteen previous editions of the Moot.  As competition law is a unique and niche area of law, the Moot is considered to be one of the most prestigious and coveted moot court competitions in India.

The Competition shall engage students in quality research and drafting on issues pertaining to competition law. To this end, the proposition for the Competition shall be based on a hypothetical dispute involving complex issues of law and policy argued before the appropriate forum.

The Competition Commission of India has associated itself with the Competition since the Competition’s inception in 2010, as a part of their competition law advocacy initiatives. In its fourteenth edition last year, the Commission also provided Rs. 1,00,000/- (One Lakh Rupees) towards the prize money of the Competition. Association with the Competition Commission of India profoundly contributes to the prestige of the Competition. The association also provides an opportunity to increase awareness amongst law students of the work profile of the Competition Commission of India.
With regards to our previous associations, the University organized and hosted the first and second edition of the Competition in association with the Competition Commission of India and Lakshmikumaran& Sridharan Attorneys. The third, fourth, fifth and sixth editions of the Competition were organized in association with Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A. Shroff & Co. and the Competition Commission of India. The seventh, eighth, and ninth editions were organized in association with Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co. The 2019 edition was held with the support of Khaitan& Co., and the Competition Commission of India while the 2020, 2021 and 2022 editions were organised in association with Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas & Co.

 The fourteenth edition i.e. in 2023, was successfully organised in association with Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas & Co. with research and knowledge partners SCC Online and Eastern Book Company, under the patronage of the Competition Commission of India.


The 2023 edition witnessed participation from 35 participating teams from some of the country’s most prestigious law schools. Among the registered teams, National Law University, Odisha and Maharashtra National Law University went up against each other in the finals. National Law University, Odisha emerged as winners. Ms. Aditi Sinha from National Law University, Odisha won the award for the Best Student Advocate of the Finals and Gujarat National Law University won the award for Best Memorial.
Format of the competition

The competition consist of preliminary and reverse preliminary rounds, followed by the octa-final rounds, quarter-final rounds and semi-final rounds. Lastly, the final rounds along with the valedictory ceremony shall be conducted on the last day. In the previous edition, the panel of judges for the Final Rounds of the Fourteenth Edition comprises of Mr. K D Singh (Director (Law) & Central Public Information Officer at Competition Commission of India), Mr. Rajshekhar Rao (Senior Advocate), Mr. Samir R. Gandhi (Partner, Axiom5 Law Chambers), Mr. Vijay Pratap Singh Chauhan (Partner, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas ), and Mr. Vinod Dhall (Senior Advisor, Touchstone Partners).